RTDNA Murrow Awards Honor 59 News Organizations

For Immediate Release: June 16, 2010
Contact: Stacey Staniak, staceys@rtdna.orgWASHINGTON – The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the 2010 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners. The awards honor excellence in electronic journalism.NBC News earned five Murrow awards, including the award for Overall Excellence in the network television grouping. NBC also won Murrows for Best Newscast, Breaking News, Writing and Hard News Reporting.

CBS News earned four Murrow Awards in the network television grouping this year, including two for “60 Minutes,” (Feature Reporting and Investigative Reporting) and two for CBS News (News Documentary and News Series.)

For the first time in 2010 RTDNA honored audio and video news produced exclusively for online news organizations. The Associated Press won every award presented to an online news organization with a national audience, including the award for News Series with the entry, “Marine’s Diary,” an interactive, three-part video essay.

CNN.com took the award for network television website.

Its coverage of the 2009 Iranian elections earned ABC News the Murrow for Continuing Coverage in the network television grouping.

In network radio, CBS Radio News won its fourth consecutive Overall Excellence award, while National Public Radio won four Murrow awards including the awards for Best Website and Hard News Reporting.

In all, 59 news organizations are being honored with 89 Edward R. Murrow awards.

Audio and video for all the winning entries as well as the complete list of winners is available at RTDNA.org.
To earn an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must consistently demonstrate depth and scope in its coverage. Overall Excellence award winners this year are:

•    NBC News (network television)
•    CBS Radio News (network radio)
•    Star Tribune, Minneapolis, MN (online news operation, local)
•    KHOU-TV, Houston (television, large market)
•    KTVB-TV, Boise, ID (television, small market)
•    WBUR-FM, Boston, MA (radio, large market)
•    WATD-FM, Marshfield, MA (radio, small market)

The awards will be presented at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York on October 11, 2010.

RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession.

RTDNA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network news professionals in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s